top of page
Mozart Reflections, Thursday, August 1, 6pm

Thursday, Aug 1, 6pm

Bridgehampton Presbyterian Church


Despite its ebullient spirit, Mozart’s Piano Quartet in E-flat major was written when he was in desperate personal circumstances. Kevin Puts’ And Legions Will Rise is, in the composer’s words, “about the power in all of us to transcend during times of tragedy and personal crisis.” Rounding out the program we present Mozart’s delightful A major flute quartet, and a world premiere commission from pianist and composer Michael Stephen Brown. The work is inspired by Tennyson’s The Lotus Eaters, who lived out their days in bliss.


Performance duration is approximately one hour and twenty minutes. There is no intermission.


Mozart Reflections, Thursday, August 1, 6pm

  • Mozart, Quartet in A major for Flute and Strings, K. 298 (m)

    Kevin Puts, And Legions Will Rise for Clarinet, Violin, and Marimba 

    Michael Stephen Brown,  Lotus Eaters for Flute, Cello, Piano, and Percussion (BCM Commission)

    Mozart, Piano Quartet in E-flat major, K. 493

  • Marya Martin, flute  |  Osmo Vänska, clarinet  |  Erin Keefe, violin  |  Masumi Per Rostad, viola  |  Mihai Marica, cello  |  Michael Stephen Brown, piano  |  Ian Rosenbaum, percussion

bottom of page